Getting ready – plans for 2015

wpid-20140830_112648.jpg

Edmonton, Canada

Watching Top Gear tonight and their trip to Canada made me reminisce about my trip to Edmonton last year and also reminded me that I hadn’t written anything here for a couple of months. As my race number for the MK half dropped through the door this week it seems quite timely to update what is going on in my world.

The MK Half will be my first race of the year. It should have been the Bucks County XC Champs but as has been the case since May last year, my calf had other ideas. A common theme throughout my posts last year was my struggles with issues with both my calf’s. Although my running has gone from strength to strength (I’ve PB’d at every distance raced in the last 12 months) my calf’s neglected to join the party. Any time I run over 10 miles or a hard track session they give up, cramp up and generally cause me grief to the point I finished most of my running races nearly in tears and then need loads of physio to get me running for my next triathlon. Funny thing is, I never get the problem in a tri…

Anyway, after the MK Winter Half in December, I took some time off from running, ramped up the physio and have spent most of the winter doing strengthening exercises. Touch wood, the problem has eased massively but I’m nervous about next Sunday. It’s so early in the season and I’ve lots planned so first sign of trouble and I’ll be backing off!

Aside from my running woes everything else is going pretty well. I decided at the end of last year that I wanted to have a bit more structure to my training so have teamed up with Adam from GreenlightPT and it’s already working wonders. My time off the road has been well spent on the bike (mostly the turbo thanks to the wonderful British weather) and in just 8 weeks I managed to increased by FTP by 10%. I also decided to treat my swimming with a bit more respect, rather than the necessary evil that triathletes have to endure and have made some big gains in the pool over the last few weeks.

'Percy'

‘Percy’

I also treated myself to a TT bike. After my son started school in September I decided to up my hours at work back to full time and along with an unexpected pay rise, the extra cash was burning a hole so I now am the proud owner of a Planet X TT. It’s still sat on the turbo but as soon as the weather clears up we’ll be whipping up and down the lanes of North Bucks and South Northants. I know it’s all about the engine that drives it but to quote a well known supermarket ‘every little helps’!

So the next few months will be a lot of hard work to get ready for the ITU qualifiers, Outlaw Half and the ETU Champs in Geneva. I’m really looking forward to Outlaw. With an improved bike leg I know there’s gains to be made as long as I can run comfortably. I’ve no idea how the qualifiers will go. I’m now the baby in a new age group with the over 40s – I only turned 39 10 weeks ago so have no idea where I sit in the scheme of things, and am very conscious of the fact I got lucky with my qualification for Edmonton last year – hopefully luck with be with me again this year!

Categories: Injury, Outlaw, Races, Training | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Getting ready – plans for 2015

  1. The over 40 is where it’s at. Even if it’s just me who says so. 😉 Good luck! Hope you got your calf sorted for good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck in MK. I hope the leg is OK. Maybe see you at the Outlaw Half where I am back for another go…….oh and welcome to the Planet X owners club. They are great!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Thoughts from the Head of School at Akeley Wood Senior and AW6 - Eleanor Holding

Working hard to inspire the next generation - nothing really worth doing is easy!

Believe and Tri

Dream, Believe, Achieve

Amazing Grace

My journey through my life changing rugby injury... Life as an above knee amputee.

Clean Coach Katie

Personal Trainer, Fitness & Running Blogger

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

European & National Aquathlon Champion (Age Group), GB Aquathlon team captain, 2021 National Sprint Triathlon Runner Up (AG) Representing Great Britain in the 2022 World & European Triathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

Saxelby News

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five social media guru with a serious and worsening endurance sport habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

it's all about connecting, and using that connection to make things better

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!