Outlaw Half Training – Week 7 done – getting it together

A good solid week of training was achieved this week and I managed to tick every session on the plan off, although not quite gold star material as I only ran four of the five intervals I should have on Thursday (the fourth was so bad, I gave it up as a bad job!).

The week started well with a good turbo session with the GreenlightPT crew. We started with a killer of a pyramid session followed by a brick set. I was quite pleased with my running off the bike – considering I’d run 12 miles the day before the legs moved quite well so they’re definitely getting used to trauma of running straight after a ride. I followed the session with an easy 3km run which was a good way to run off the previous days run and the pain I’d just put them through.

Swimming on Wednesday was good – feel like I’m getting my swimming mojo back again after a bit of a lull – felt strong throughout the session and am relieved that the pain I had in my shoulder is lessening as the weeks go on. Can only assume it didn’t like the increase in training and introduction of core work!

As I mentioned earlier, my interval session on Thursday was not 100% successful. As with last week I had to do the intervals up and down the A5 which is not ideal. It’s difficult to get any sort of a rhythm going as you’re either running uphill, downhill, crossing a road or turning around. I’ll be pleased when the lighter nights return so I can go and use a great 1km straight we have just outside our village – could have been designed for interval work.

I finally managed to get my second swim of the week in on Friday morning – I hadn’t been able to try the endurance session yet so gave it a go and was quite pleased with the outcome – all reps in under time and without too much effort expelled – it did help having two bloke ironman training hanging off my feet as it forced me to keep an even pace which is no bad thing.

With the MK Half on Sunday I only had a reasonably short bike ride to do (50km) on Saturday so tagged along with my father in law and brother in law en route to some hill training – thankfully I got to turn around before they hit the bigger hills although I was faced with my other nemesis on the way home – the wind! Made my planned fun ride home a long slog – not perfect preparation for a race the next day but hey, that’s what training is all about!

The MK Half marathon on Sunday was great – I’ll save the details for a race report but in the scheme of things, after a swim on Friday, a ride on Saturday I was more than pleased with my performance on Sunday. I ended up only around two and a half minutes off my PB and to be honest, it was only my lack of long runs (2 x 10 miles and 1 12 mile) that undid me in the end but still early days – plenty more running to come…

Quicker runner

Categories: Outlaw, Races, Training | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Outlaw Half Training – Week 7 done – getting it together

  1. Great going!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

GB Aquathlon team captain, 2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

triathlon and family can mix

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

10k Ray

Adventures in Running & Triathlon

