Outlaw Half Training – Week 6 done – up and running

After a pretty much non-existent week of training last week, things are picking up again. I’ve still got my cold (I never have one of those few day colds that others seem to have) but it’s not on my chest so pushing on with the training!

Back into the turbo session with GreenlightPT on Monday. It was a great brick session with reps on the bike followed by runs round the block. My first foray into brick training this year and the legs weren’t sure what had hit them – especially as one of the reps involved a running parachute! It must have given various passers-by a giggle. But it got me working up a sweat so must have been doing some good.

Swimming on Wednesday was hard – it looked so simple on the board, two of everything – unfortunately there was also a x4 and brackets involved…but I finished the set in one piece and my shoulder held together…

I ran my first set of intervals in about a year on Thursday. Not quite on target pace, but considering I had to do them up and down the A5 (not flat and junctions to cross) was pretty pleased with the outcome. Consistent pace throughout and definitely room for improvement. Haven’t been able to run that fast comfortably for years if I’m honest so feeling pretty chuffed with myself and really looking forward to getting the running part of my training underway properly. I just need to remember to look after my legs – stretching and rolling…

Life got in the way on Friday with a poorly little boy and a husband away with work so unfortunatetly my second swim session was canned. I hoped to make it up on Sunday evening but just never happened, just need to make my next swim session better to make up for it.

The weekend was probably my biggest yet in total distance covered.  Not my biggest ride but was the largest bike/run combination over two days. I didn’t go out with my usual group on Saturday morning. It was quite icy, even at 9am and as I don’t do ice (ever) a mile out of my village I chickened out and came home. I eventually ventured out at around 10:30 and had a pootle around the lanes. It’s always tough out on your own, the miles seem to take so long to stack up and you never travel as fast. I was quite grateful to ride for about 10 miles with a fellow cyclist who I’d caught up. We had a nice chat which made the miles go past quicker, even though the speed wasn’t so hot. After I left him in Fringford I pushed hard for  few miles to make up some time and was quite pleased with what I could do – the lack of headwind did make a difference! for the second week in a row I avoided a cafe stop, but as a result did need to stop to take a gel. I need to start to take on food a bit more on the go as it wont do the bike split much good to be stopping for tea and toast.

Sunday was a long run – I had a target of 12 miles on the plan and the DLRR club run was an hour or 2 hours 20 mins – I needed a bit in between that so ran five miles on my own and then ran an hour with the club. It was great to be back running with the guys again and I quite surprised myself as how quickly my running has come back together. With the MK Half next week it could be an interesting race. It is just a training run, and I don’t think I’m in PB shape but sometimes once you get going you feel it’s there – I’ve got my game plan worked out for a conservative start and finish strong, but I’m terrible as sticking to my preconceived plans…so roll on next Sunday.

runner

Categories: Outlaw, Races, Training | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Outlaw Half Training – Week 6 done – up and running

  1. yea having a cold is hard to push through but I still think that you feel better when you have done some training.

    you seem to be smashing your training so keep up the good work

    Like

    • Cheers – it is slowly coming together…hope your training is going well?

      Like

      • yea its not to bad, im finding it hard to motivate myself to run so just doing shorter 2 or 3 mile runs to get rid of the boredom (i dont like running very much)

        I honestly cant wait for the first event of the season though it makes me all giddy lol

        Like

      • Yes thank you, the swimming is coming on really well and the cycling is steady. The run is the bain of my life so I will keep going with that for now.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

GB Aquathlon team captain, 2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

triathlon and family can mix

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

10k Ray

Adventures in Running & Triathlon

