And so it begins…the road to Outlaw Half 2014

Today is week 1, day 1 of my training programme that will take me to the start line of the Outlaw Half in Nottingham on 1st June. It will be my first half ironman triathlon (and possibly my last) and is a step beyond anything I’ve ever done before.

I’m armed with my GreenlightPT personalised programme and on the surface doesn’t look too daunting – nothing beyond anything I’ve done before apart from some core sessions and much more regularity on the bike – I must be the only triathlete who can get through a season with less than 500 miles in training on the bike! That has now changed though – I’ve got a good 25-50 mile ride in most weekends since October so am ready for the long rides in the programme – not sure how the usual cafe stop will be factored in though, but I’m sure if there’s a will there’s a way. There’s less running that I would normally do, but with my knee still dodgy that’s no bad thing and I’ve proved over the past year swimming and biking are enough to keep the running ticking over.

The first session on the plan was a turbo session and is one I normally attend anyway so no big changes to the current set up. Towards the end of the week it’s a little different though. I need to get some run intervals done which I haven’t done for a while because of my knee injury and I also need to get in a swim on Friday. I don’t mind swimming in the evening (my local pool has 9-10pm lanes) but with a big ride most Saturdays I’m going to try to get the session done in the morning at 6am then go straight to work. Not sure how this will work with the family as husband and four year old will need to get themselves up in the morning but we’re going to give it a go. It will then give me time to do an easy recovery run straight after work.

So that’s the first day/session done, rest day tomorrow and then the hard work will start to kick in…

Thomas-Edison-Famous-Quotes(c) http://inspirationboost.com/thomas-edison-famous-quotes

Categories: Outlaw, Training | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “And so it begins…the road to Outlaw Half 2014

  1. Seems like you have a good training schedule sorted with the long rides over the winter and into the spring will help massively. The running training element is important but you have got plenty of time to get back into it.

    try a really short run off the bike and if that is ok on the knee then brick sessions will give you a lot more benefit.

    Have you got any races planned in the early part of the season?

    Like

    • Thanks – this is almost the best prepared I’ve ever been going into training for an event with only the running aspect a bit iffy still. Although I’m hoping with my running background it will carry me through and I did notice last season I find it much easier to run off the bike with regard to my knee – assume it’s nice and warm by then! There are brick sessions on the plan…

      I’ve got a couple of half marathons (March and May), a sportive and a couple of tri’s planned before the race one pool sprint in April to get the legs going and an olympic in early May.

      Have you got much lined up?

      Like

      • thats a good plan. I have got a Time Trial in late Feb, Sprint in April, Sprint in May, 2 in June, 1 in july and 70.3 Wiesbaden in August. Thats it for now but that is the most I have had booked in for one season so im gonna see how it goes 🙂 cant wait to start racing though.

        Like

  2. good stuff, keep it going!

    Like

  3. Best of luck with this! I’ll be reading your weekly updates with great interest, I’m taking on my first 70.3 too in late August (Budapest)! Just back into training from last week, defo be a good bit of trial and error getting in a full short distance season while trying to get ready for long!! 😀

    Like

  4. I’m also doing the Outlaw Half this year and look forward to following your journey! Good luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

GB Aquathlon team captain, 2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

triathlon and family can mix

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

10k Ray

Adventures in Running & Triathlon

