Week 15 – London Marathon Training Review

Apologies for the late post but didn’t get a chance to post this on Sunday and then it didn’t seem appropriate last night. ūüė¶

The penultimate training week…the tapering really took effect this week. I was a bit naughty and succumbed to some intervals on Tuesday. They were only 400m long and not particularly fast, just enough to remind my legs that I can move a bit faster sometimes and was reassuring to see I had regained some of the strength I had before my injury. My calves were a bit tight so it’s possible I did only do seven reps, kind of lost count and trying to recalculate while running a rep is impossible! Judging by the total mileage, I think I was probably 400m short but hey, life’s too short to worry about that…

I attended the usual swim session on Wednesday with GreenlightPT with the plan to go down a lane so that I could keep in line with the taper – no such luck, stayed in the top lane and completed a tough session, just a touch under 3km. I really can’t wait to do a triathlon now to see how my swimming has improved.

Thursday I met the guys and gals for an ‘early lap’ we deliberately didn’t go all out but it still got progressively quicker and wasn’t that much slower than the previous week. I was then very good and rather than go on the social run, which would normally work out at least another 5 miles, a couple of us went for a quick 1.5 mile run. Only trouble was the heavens opened and it didn’t just rain, it was a deluge and I haven’t been that soaked since the MK marathon last year! It was a rather tough 1.5. miles but doing that rather than the social run meant I kept my mileage down for the week.

This weekend was the last long run. The route planned by this weeks club routemaster was somewhat of a tour of the hills of MK, perhaps not the best run to do as a last run before London but there were plenty of drop out points so I bailed out after 7 miles and then ran the last three miles back to DL at race pace.

So after 15 weeks of injury, recovery, relapse, more recovery, illness, rebuilding and eventually almost a full return to training, I’ve actually made it to race week – woohoo!!!

Monday – rest

Tuesday –¬† 4.6 miles (1 mile jog, 8x400m fast, 2 min rec), 1 mile warm down)

Wednesday  Рswim with GreenlightPT

Thursday – 5.3 miles (4 mile early lap/1.3 mile run)

Friday – rest

Saturday – rest

Sunday – 10 miles

Miles for the week – 19.9 miles

Categories: Injury, London Marathon, Races, Training | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Week 15 – London Marathon Training Review

  1. Very best of luck with London. I`ll be thinking of you! And envying you! It will be such a hard slog and a wonderful thrill. And an accomplishment to be proud of for the rest of your life.

    Like

  2. Thank you! I’m starting to get really excited now…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

GB Aquathlon team captain, 2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

