Post marathon blues…

Well, it’s been over nearly a week and although full of ideas for posts and things to do next I just can’t quite get myself together to move any of it forward!

Aerial view of Silverstone's Grand Prix Circui...

Aerial view of Silverstone's Grand Prix Circuit (taken at the 2010 AirAsia British Grand Prix - MotoGP) (Photo credit: Silverstone Circuits Limited)

So, this is a bit of a short post just to left you know I’m still here but summoning up the motivation toget going again. I’ve started running again, a slow run on Thursday and quite a quick run last night (things started to ache after 5 miles so I slowed down) just to get the blood going again. I’ve entered another race, the Silverstone 10km a week on Wednesday and am looking towards future  races and challenges. But, deep down London is still playing on my mind – I’ll save the details for another post and in truth I’m struggling to work out what to do next.

I’m now at a bit of a cross roads – I’ve really enjoyed the running training, and I mean really enjoyed it. I’ve joined a club (David Lloyd Redway Runners) and have a new group to run with which can only help my running improve, but I’m also missing the variety of triathlon training. I know there’s nothing stopping me doing both, but I’m a bit of a perfectionist in that I don’t like to dabble, if I do something, I want to focus on it and the danger is concentrating on my running will mean my bike and swim will suffer – and to be honest my biking has always been the poor relation to the other two! By concentrating on swim/bike I know my running will suffer and I’ve just really started to enjoy running again.

I guess I need to find a new goal and that will determine my next course of action. There’s the Cowman (Half Ironman) coming up – but only about 11 weeks away and due to London training done next to nothing on the bike or in the pool, plus there’s the MK Half on the same day, plus I also need to think longer term…decisions decisions!

Anyway, this wasn’t actually a very short post at all but I think it has helped me get some sort of plan going in my head.  I will report back soon…;-)

Categories: London Marathon, Races, Training | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Post marathon blues…

  1. Hi there! How’s the legs? You’ve been ‘tagged’ in my latest blog post. I’m passing on the fun! Cat xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

triathlon and family can mix

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

10k Ray

Adventures in Running & Triathlon

