Chippers Rules of the Taper

 

  1. Try to be in bed before 11pm at least once in the final two weeks
  2. Try not to eat my own body weight in food every day
  3. Try to have at least one conversation a day that doesn’t concern the marathon – it’s pretty central to my life at the moment, but probably not anyone else’s!
  4. Try to eat well – lots of fruit, vitamin C and plenty of water (not the sort that is packaged as wine or beer for that matter!)
  5. Stay healthy (steer clear of anyone with the sniffles) – might be a bit hard with a two year old…
  6. Keep up the stretching and icing, just because it feels better doesn’t mean you can stop
  7. Relax….and stop worrying about getting breakfast on the morning, getting to the Expo at Excel, getting to the start, spotting Team Chip at Mile 14 (let’s face it I’m not going to miss them – I’ll probably hear them from Mile 13!) and finding them at the end
  8. Visualise the cold pint/glass of champers that will be on offer some time in the afternoon on 22nd – mmmm!

Anyone got any to add?

 

 

Categories: London Marathon, Races, Training | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Chippers Rules of the Taper

  1. Great list! I heard some great advice from a fellow runner today, apparently if you don’t feel fat and lazy during the taper then you are doing it wrong! This is reassuring because I’ve pretty much spent the last couple of days munching on Easter eggs and moving minimal amounts.

    Like

  2. Chip,
    I’m running Boston next Monday and it’s about all I can talk about. I see a lot of glazed over eyes when I go on for more than a minute or two about training or The Marathon.
    Eating, my God! I could eat every half hour! And because i’m in taper mode I feel fat. A great thing about running is that you can eat like crazy and atleast feel okay about it. I try to eat right when I’m training, but I do eat alot.
    I loved the list! Have a great marathon.

    Like

    • Good luck for Boston, I’d love to do that one day but I hear it’s got tough entry times.

      Like

      • Chip,

        Here are the Boston Marathon qualifying times.You really have to be a great runner to hit these numbers. My buddy is determined that we are both going to qualify, and before we are 80! I need to shave a minute off of my marathon pace to hit my goal. We are running on invitation numbers that we get by raising money for charities. I’m running for Children’s Hospital Boston. It’s an honor to be running for such a good cause.

        2013 Qualifying Times (effective September 24, 2011)
        Age Group Men Women
        18-34 3hrs 05min 00sec 3hrs 35min 00sec
        35-39 3hrs 10min 00sec 3hrs 40min 00sec
        40-44 3hrs 15min 00sec 3hrs 45min 00sec
        45-49 3hrs 25min 00sec 3hrs 55min 00sec
        50-54 3hrs 30min 00sec 4hrs 00min 00sec
        55-59 3hrs 40min 00sec 4hrs 10min 00sec
        60-64 3hrs 55min 00sec 4hrs 25min 00sec
        65-69 4hrs 10min 00sec 4hrs 40min 00sec
        70-74 4hrs 25min 00sec 4hrs 55min 00sec
        75-79 4hrs 40min 00sec 5hrs 10min 00sec
        80 and over 4hrs 55min 00sec 5hrs 25min 00sec
        Unlike previous years, an additional 59 seconds will NOT be accepted for each age group time standard.

        Like

      • Don’t think I’ll be qualifying for Boston anytime soon! They’re harsh! My goal time for London is on the page, but I need to be 60!

        Like

  3. Not doing too well so far – 1. was 12:30am last night, 2. Involved several Easter Eggs, 4. One or two vinos last night – oops and 5. Woke up with a cold this mornng! But on the plus side I think I managed a conversation with our builder about door hinges that I couldn’t swing round to marathon talk. Oh well still a few more to work on….

    Like

  4. runrogers

    All the best for London Chip, anyone who does a marathon is a legend in my eyes. I’m only at the beginning of my journey and trying to build up over the next 12 months finishing with a golden ticket for Tommy’s at Next years London Marathon so I’m keen to hear all about your experience, tips, what to do /not to do…….. and anything else running related. Think about that moment of crossing the line, you can’t buy that feeling. All the best.

    Like

    • Thank you runrogers! It’s been a great, if tough experience at times! When things get hard, focus on why you’re doing it – the strength you can draw on is amazing. My first tip – build up slowly….

      Like

  5. Good luck at London! Great rules- I’m pretty sure my co-workers want to kill me for all my marathon talk!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Teacups & Trainers

Running through life, drinking as much tea as possible

Going the (middle) distance

Ramblings about training for a middle distance triathlon

Yiannis Christodoulou

2017 National Silver Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist (Age Group) 2016 National and European Bronze Medalist Representing Great Britain in the 2017 European and World Aquathlon Championships (Age Group)

lucycharles.swim.bike.run

Follow my triathlon journey

Angus Smith - Triathlete

Follow my journey as a student triathlete striving to achieve on the international stage

moragmcdowall

GB AG Triathlete

3 times harder!

Work hard or go home

Fat Girl to Ironman

My five year journey to awesomeness...

cbertram.triathlon

A triathlon journey

Dan Guerrero

Moving onto bigger and better things

Helenfmurray

Life, adventures, plenty of cake and cycling Italy

Adam Bennett - Trying to Tri

Follow my forays in the endurance world here...

Hickory Dickory Doherty.....

A rebel with a cause.

A MAMIL's Musings

A man, his lycra and his demons

Ironlozza

Pretending I am an actual superhero

runandtri

A beginners guide to running and triathlons

lucysax

The intimate adventures of an over-worked and under-paid mother-of-five Sport-horse breeder with a serious and worsening triathlon habit...

Views from the Third Wave

The thoughts of an aspiring mid-life runner and triathlete

IronTarsh

Chick who loves to race!

tinman2ironman2014

A ridiculous man's struggle to become an Iron Man in 12 months

stevenburkard

triathlon and family can mix

My Tri Training Diaries

The triathlon training diary: mission Ironman 70.3

Running to Greatness

the quest to a 253.4km running week ......100m at a time

fitcetera

Finding confidence and strength in fitness

BoxerRunner

Journeys of Rescuing and Running

Running Sunflower

Living life one pair of running shoes at a time.

atrihuntress

a veterinary student triathlete in training

robfinchtri

Blog of a self confessed Triathlon addict

Age Group girl

Life and laughs of an Age Group triathlete

imborntotri

Big Miles, Big Results!

10k Ray

Adventures in Running & Triathlon

